“I Got This!” Down to a Science

to have something ‘down to a science’ meant mastery

In the days when science was not yet a bad word … to have something ‘down to a science’ meant mastery, or according to merriam-webster.com, “to be able to do something in a quick and efficient way.” Yep! Perhaps that’s one thing I have truly mastered, and that is, getting by simply and with little. When a “neighbour” told me I had my lifestyle down to a science, I took it as a huge compliment. I was, afterall in a trailer park with essentially a tent and no hookups. The other residents were flabbergasted, but did end up liking me after they got used to it LOL!

On May 1, 2020, in the middle of our first lockdown, I packed up and left, towing my little trailer small enough to be towed with a motorcycle. Instead, I had a VW wagon packed with an office and everything I would need for 6 months. I ended up camping for 150 days. I posted my first days on facebook, like a ’21 Day Challenge,’ because it was! and have downloaded it here (coming soon!).

Author: Kaytlyn Creutzberg, BSc, NSch, MA

#SayItLikeItIs and #ChoreographYourLifeYourWay: Kaytlyn writes not only about applying a spiritual care therapeutic model to farming, but also how collective cultural narratives impact the choices we make that result in a pervasive "don't care" attitudinal construct towards Earth and Her landscapes. (formerly Gayl)

Leave a comment